The David Ross Education Trust

David Ross Education Trust schools create a rich and exciting learning environment that inspires students to become their confident, academic best.

Learn More

pull-out button for trust tab

Fairfield Academy

We hope you are able to take some time to explore and learn about the huge range of opportunities and experiences on offer at Fairfield Academy.

Academy Information

The Fairfield Values

Our curriculum is underpinned by core fundamental values.

These form the basis of everything we do in school.

The Fairfield Four are:

  • We ALWAYS aim high
  • We ALWAYS have the confidence to try new things
  • We ALWAYS value and support each other
  • We ALWAYS show good sportsmanship and work as a team

In addition to the values we aim to:

  • Encourage each pupil to reach their potential by developing qualities of self-discipline, motivation and commitment.
  • Help pupils develop an understanding of their own identity and personal moral values
  • Help pupils develop respect and tolerance of other races, religions, cultures and life-styles
  • Help pupils to develop lively and enquiring minds, the ability to question and discuss rationally, to investigate and solve problems, and to effectively apply themselves to mental and physical tasks
  • Guide pupils to acquire understanding, knowledge and skills relevant to adult life and employment in a fast changing world
  • Help pupils gain competence in language, numeracy, information and communication technology skills (ICT), and scientific methodology, so that they can communicate effectively using these skills
  • Help pupils understand the world in which they live and the interdependence of individuals, groups and society
  • Help pupils to value aspirations and achievement
  • Help pupils to understand the importance of developing a social responsibility towards those less fortunate than themselves

Meet the staff

Principal - Miss Kizzi Matanga
Vice Principal - Mrs Joanne Irving
Administration Team - Mrs Tracey Piggott & Mrs Verity Noton
SENCo - Mrs Lucianna Smith

Nursery Teacher- Miss Sarah Jenkin
Foundation Stage Teacher - Mrs Eleanor Robertson
Foundation Stage Teacher - Miss Gemma Jackson                                                                                

Key Stage 1 Teacher - Mr Clayden Clark
Key Stage 1 Teacher - Miss Stacy Lambert
Key Stage 1 Teacher - Mrs Eleanor Bolton
Key Stage 1 Teacher - Miss Natalie Taylor
Key Stage 1 Teacher - Mrs Catherine Harrison

Lower Key Stage 2 Teacher - Mr Damien Burdett
Lower Key Stage 2 Teacher - Miss Kerry Watson
Lower Key Stage 2 Teacher - Miss Alexia Winters
Upper Key Stage 2 Teacher - Mr Lucas Quinn-Dawes                                                                                          Upper Key Stage 2 Teacher - Mrs Jacquie Mullins
Upper Key Stage 2 Teacher - Mrs Louise Burgess

Teaching Assistants - Mrs Joanne Corrigan,  Miss Therese Mayall,  Mrs Gemma Dillon, Miss Charlotte Briggs, Mrs Diane Taylor-Vine, Mrs Christine Bingley, Mrs Julie Harvey, Mrs Amy Nunns, Mrs Emma Wilson

Learning Mentor - Mrs Sarah Harrison

HLTA - Mrs N Kesharwani, Mrs G Wellington

Midday Supervisors - Mrs Michelle Reid, Miss Jane Brown, Miss Emy Garner, Miss Angela Summersell

Caretaker - Mr Marc Summersell

Cleaners - Ms Louise Fuller, Mrs Jane Rendell, Miss Angela Summersell,  Mr Michael Blowers, Miss Alexandra Smith

School Day

Our school day is from 8.40am to 3.20pm.

All pupils should be in class for registration by 8.50am, anyone arriving after this time will be marked as Late.

School Council

Each class within school nominates a School Councillor, who in turn will support the Vice Principal in making any changes to the Academy and providing their peers with a pupil voice.




At school, we have four houses:

  • BRONTE (Blue) 
  • HAWKING (Green) 
  • ELGAR (Yellow) 


Show list Show Grid